Zakat Expert

From the five pillars, the Qur’an mentions the three pillars of ‘Īmān, Ṣalāt and Zakat together repeatedly.

Ṣalāt (also spelt Salat or Salah) are the five obligatory daily prayers, that set the pattern of the day for every Muslim. This ritual also connects the millions of believers across the globe, and across time, as this tradition is over 14 centuries old. The prayers are carried out in the direction of the Kaaba, before performing wudu – the ritual washing. It’s recommended for Muslims to pray at a mosque, but prayer can be done anywhere.

The great scholar, Imam al-‘Irāqī (d.806 AH) states that whoever performs these three pillars correctly, will be able to perform fasting and Ḥajj easily. Al-Kirmānī (d.786 AH) mentions Ṣalat and Zakat have more importance and emphasis due to their universal nature. It is of no surprise then that the Qur’an exhorts steadfastness on Salat and Zakat twenty-eight times.

In fact, Mulla Ali al-Qari (d.1014 AH) states that Salat and Zakat are the origins of all worship and good deeds. Imam al-‘Ayni (d. 855 AH) refers to Zakat as the partner of Salat. If Salat and Zakat are rightfully established at a macro and micro level in the society, they will help in all other good deeds and acts manifesting in society.

It is upon this establishment of virtue that Allah promises prosperity and harmony for all.

“God has made a promise to those among you who believe and do good deeds: He will make them successors to the land, as He did those who came before them; He will empower the religion He has chosen for them; He will grant them the security to replace their fear. ‘They will worship Me and not join anything with Me.’ Those who are defiant after that will be the rebels. Establish Salat, give Zakat and obey the Messenger so that you may receive [this] Mercy!” (Quran 24:55-56).

Pay your Zakat
Download your FREE Zakat Guide

Reviewed on: 31/01/2022

Was this article helpful?

Helping you bring Zakat
to life where you live.